Cornell Chicken

It was time for a little more backyard BBQ this weekend. This time around I tried the Western NY staple, Cornell Chicken. I made a slight variation on the original recipe based on an America’s Test Kitchen recipe I previously got my hands on. It certainly works to make a pretty good looking and tasty chicken. No Cornell Chicken can be served without salt potatoes, so of course I made a pot full. If you’ve never had salt potatoes, I recommend you try them. Add 1.5 to 2 cups kosher salt to 8 cups of water, boil three pounds of small round (I used Yukon Gold) potatoes until tender, then drain and set the individual potatoes on a cooling rack and watch the salt crust form. Melt some butter, a stick should suffice, throw in some fresh chives and a twist of the pepper grinder and you are good to go.

Leave a Reply

